Since 1986, we have been helping workers across the greater Nueces County area and the Coastal Bend who have been injured in on-the-job accidents. Carrigan & Anderson, PLLC has fought for fair compensation for these workers and their families, helping them get the medical care and financial support they need to set things right again.
Contact our offices at (361) 210-3729 for a free review of your work accident claim.
Our Corpus Christi work injury attorneys are passionate about what they do, and they are standing by to see how they can assist you.
What is the Statute of Limitations for Workers Comp Claims in Texas?
Texas is one of the only states that does not require employers to have workers compensation coverage. According to the Texas Workforce Commission the time limit an employee has to file a claim for a work injury is within the first 90 days:
"Injured workers must file injury reports within thirty days of the injury, must appeal the first impairment rating within 90 days of its issuance, and must file the formal paperwork for the workers' compensation claim within one year of the injury. If the work-related nature of the injury or illness was not immediately apparent, those deadlines run from the date on which the employee should have known the problem was work-related."*
Types of Workers Comp Claims We Handle
We deal with work injury claims in Corpus Christi and the surrounding areas involving:
- Falls at work
- Construction accidents
- Work-related auto accidents
- Heavy machinery malfunction
- Plant and industrial accidents
- Electrocution and electrical injuries
- Fires and explosions
- Exposure to hazardous chemicals
- Repetitive motion injuries
- Heavy strain injuries
- Occupational diseases
Can I Sue My Employer for a Work-Related Injury?
An injured worker may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits for any injury or illness that is related to the performance of his or her job, work environment, or job duties. You may be entitled to file a lawsuit if you believe your employer intentionally hurt you, or if your employer does not have proper type of insurance set up for workers compensation injuries.
Workers compensation benefits are provided on a no-fault basis, meaning the worker does not have to prove negligence or wrongdoing by his or her employer to recover compensation. Even if the worker was personally responsible, he or she may still be entitled to benefits.
Workers’ comp benefits typically only cover medical care and a percentage of lost earnings for workplace injuries. If a third party was to blame, you may be entitled to additional compensation, for all of your lost wages, future loss earnings, continued medical care, and even emotional trauma. Our Corpus Christi work accident lawyers will consider every source of compensation to maximize your recovery, including a personal injury lawsuit against a third party.